Built by English Electric in 1934, these cars are single deck open-topped models with central doors and gangway. They are numbered 600-607,originally 225-236 and have a passenger capacity of between 52 and 56. These cars are known as “the boats” due to their ship-like streamlined appearance and are one of the most iconic Blackpool trams. All cars are virtually identical, except for 600, which has shorter body panels.
The boats were first commissioned by Walter Luff in 1933, in accordance with his five year plan. The first prototype boat arrived in Blackpool during early spring in 1934 along with four other designs. After an initial trial period, company directors approved an order for eleven more production cars, which arrived in July and August 1934. These new boats were numbered 225-236.